we need to invent a new word
to express our regret,
our apologies.

all ‘sorry’ reminds me of
is empty promises
and nights spent crying–
tears pouring down my face
and dripping
onto the screen of my phone.

of the days i was too sad
to leave the comfort of my blankets,
the days you didn’t care enough
to even lift a finger.

i can’t apologise to my mother
without her eyes
morphing into yours,
those dark, sinister black holes
still threaten to swallow me.

all ‘sorry’ reminds me of
is the scars that now litter my body,
of the sickening sorrow
that seems to be hiding
in every shadow.

all ‘sorry’ reminds me of is you.

e.m.b (via poeticallyordinary)
Tinggalkan Balasan

